• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 221 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 300,200 hits

Steve Grand Finds the Star Machine

Cute kid; better as a video than a song. Hits most of the buttons on the dial, including the flag and a big-ass Pontiac. But —-

If he’d ever learn to sexualize Gay guys instead of Straight ones, he might have something to sing about. Are we really this backward in 2013 that being honestly Gay is considered a noteworthy advance?

I wish him well. That brief flash of nudity was slightly courageous. But the story is 1953, and I’m not impressed that another one’s come out.

What we do after we’re out is what matters. As for the hide-bound country audience, who gives a damn.

The Point: the same things that make this performer desirable – handsome, muscled, talented, smart, nice and above all *male* – make other Gay men desirable too. So don’t throw yourself after the unlikely ones – in their rented Pontiacs, they mostly turn out to be jerks.++

2 Responses

  1. I see your point Josh but I feel you’re being too hard on the kid. You and I are of the same generation and even grew up in the same part of the world. I never had the balls to actually kiss any of the farm boys on whom I crushed. I sincerely doubt the reaction would have been as nonchalant either. Let’s face it… when one has a small sample group, the likelihood of crushing on a similarly oriented guy is slim. the video spoke to me in that I remembered those feelings. Memories of Mike and Tom came flooding back. (I even drove a big Pontiac, though not a convertible.) I’m thrilled to see a small town guy portray same sex attraction openly in that context and rejection being of the advance, not the friend. Partner and I went to one of his final performances and I took great delight in his very Catholic nods from the entrance processional to open arms welcoming us to his “liturgy”.

  2. Well, I’m glad you liked it, Bradley.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

