• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 294 other followers

  • Blog Stats

    • 322,407 hits

Gun Control after the Sandy Hook School Mass Shooting

(Tom Toles/Washington Post)

(Tom Toles/Washington Post)

I find that I am not comforted, after the murder of 20 children and 7 adults this morning in Connecticut, by the many prayers and expressions of grief posted by Church people on Facebook, any more than I am soothed by the blather of psychiatrists paid to spout off on TV about it.

I mean, any and all expressions of sorrow by people of goodwill are welcome, and every attempt to help is a good thing. I’m just saying I’m not comforted by them, because my primary emotion isn’t sadness, it’s anger.

After Columbine, I felt sadness. Virginia Tech, Gabby Giffords in Tucson, the Sikh temple in Michigan, the mall shooting in Portland, they all broke my heart.

But this one makes me furious. Children in kindergarten?

I wrote on Facebook, “Enough with these mass shootings. Gun control now!

A few minutes later I e-mailed President Obama, then posted a link so others could do the same. You can too, right here.

I contacted one of my Senators; the other one’s a lame duck, so I didn’t bother with him. I can’t get in touch with my Congressman until after the new session, because his website is set up to take people only from the ZIP Codes in his current (2010) district, not his new one; we got redistricted. They’re both big 2nd Amendment types anyway, but they’re exactly the ones who need to hear the nation’s disgust.

As the day wore my Facebook news feed filled up with prayers, pictures of candles, the sayings of wise people, statements of bishops, “how to talk to children after a tragedy” and every other Hallmark card we’ve come to expect. Somehow the constant use of the term “tragedy” to describe what happened drove me a little bit nuts. I felt like shouting, “It isn’t a tragedy, it’s a crime!”

Which brings me to the National Rifle Association. I heard from one of their members, who commented, “I was raised with guns, and I vote.”

I promptly told her off and unfriended her.

As far as I’m concerned the NRA might as well be a terrorist organization. And I’m sick of politicians of both parties kowtowing to terrorists.

The members of the NRA believe in moderate proposals for gun control, but the leaders of the organization take their money and plow it into opposing every tiny effort to restrict access to guns by people who shouldn’t have them.

The NRA has become a front for the most vile, right-wing, Republican Tea Party fanatics in the nation.

But there are more of us than there are of them. The difference is they are ORGANIZED – and organized interests with money trump the common good every time.

We don’t have to put up with this. If politicians are worried that the NRA will come after them, we need to make them worry about us even more.

Meanwhile, to all my Christian friends, with all their prayers and candles and Hallmark cards, I answer this: Our God is a God of justice as well as mercy.

We ought to know that, considering it’s Advent; we’re reading Isaiah these days.

Therefore the anger of the LORD was kindled against his people,
and he stretched out his hand against them and struck them;
the mountains quaked,
and their corpses were like refuse in the streets.
For all this his anger has not turned away,
and his hand is stretched out still.

Isaiah 5:25-26

Or maybe you remember this from St. Paul:

Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord.

Romans 12:19 (NIV)

(Or maybe you prefer this translation.)

Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord. (KJV)

“Vengeance is mine” also means it’s not yours or mine. Now is not the time for anyone to get violent in response to violence.

But the 535 members of Congress, and the President of the United States, have everything to answer for.

Obama went a little further this afternoon in his public expression of grief than he’s done the last four years after all the other mass shootings; he made a reference to “policy.”

My view is that we must repeal and replace the 2nd Amendment. I support hunting, which is a way of life in rural areas; people feed their families by being good with a rifle or a longbow.

They do not feed their families with handguns. I say ban them all!

Sure, I know how hard repealing and replacing the 2nd Amendment will be, but we owe it to our children – specifically those 20 little kids in Newtown, Connecticut, killed today because some guy who shouldn’t have had guns had three semi-automatics, and loaded his car up with bullets, drove to their school and shot them. His own mother, too, and several other adults. But what makes me furious is that he killed 20 kids in kindergarten, bang bang bang.

I say this to every priest in my church and every Hallmark-sending friend on Facebook: I am not going to pray for his soul.

Instead I say this: May God damn him to hell forever.

That’s what hell’s for; our God is a God of justice as well as mercy. Learn this, people.++

2nd Amendment Twisted

5 Responses

  1. God won’t, you know.

  2. As far as I’m concerned the NRA might as well be a terrorist organization. And I’m sick of politicians of both parties kowtowing to terrorists.¨ JT

    I don’t have one ounce for fight left in me today (if I did, I would have said the above).

  3. Unfortunately mass killings are not just relegated to the US. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_rampage_killers

  4. Josh,

    Your blaming the wrong people for killing Josh. You should be blaming the killers not the NRA. Blaming the NRA for people being killed is like blaming AAA insurance for cars killing people every day.

    Disarming Americans would lead to more deaths of people, look at Mexico. You can’t own a weapon what so ever, and the cartels are killing everyone. Criminals love gun control laws, because it makes their job easier. No worries when a criminal knows no one will be shooting back at them when they go on their murder sprees.

    More gun laws will only take law abiding peoples ability to defend themselves and keep their families safe from psychopaths like this recent Newtown one and other criminals that do not follow any laws.

    Had someone had a firearm they could of had a fighting chance to stop that crazy kid that had mental problems. The problem is not the guns, its the people. Its impossible to get rid of all the guns, they are already out there, and do you really think a criminal who got his weapons on the black market is really going to turn in his illegal gun if we passed more laws or didn’t allow anyone to have one at all? Of course not.

    The image above that says, “HOW DID A well regulated Militia get twisted”. The person who made that doesn’t understand the language of what it means.

    The actual writing says:
    “A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.”

    This means the Military(Militia) which we need to be well organized to defend our country, also the right of the people to bear arms shall not be infringed because the people had just fought a war against a militia and knew it would probably happen again.

    The 2nd amendment is our right to fight against a tyrannic government and our last resort to defend our families and loved ones against the criminals.

    God bless you,

    Kelly

    I urge you to watch this video: . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1u0Byq5Qis

  5. Ah, doesn’t it always come down to that – the claim that people need guns to “fight a tyrannic government.” By which they mean ours.

    We saw the same crapola at Waco, Ruby Ridge and Oklahoma City.

    It’s a right-wing meme, trotted out every time some hothead doesn’t agree with the results of democratic government. Did you see my earlier post about the neighbor who lowered his flag to half-staff the morning after the election? It’s been there ever since, six weeks and counting, although now it happens to agree with President Obama’s order to military installations in the wake of Newtown.

    Semi-automatics and 100-round drums aren’t going to be any match for the U.S. military if it ever comes to that. It won’t.

    Whether the NRA and the gun industry like it or not, restrictions are coming. The 2nd Amendment does not grant absolute rights to “bear” any and all weapons anyone wants. The essential argument here is a political one, and the politics have changed. No one ever wants to see 20 first-graders mowed down again, for any reason, including a completely disputed claim about protecting ourselves from tyrannical government. The people have the right to change the law, and they will.

    Thank you for your blessing. Same to you, Kelly. I didn’t watch the video.

    Josh

Leave a Reply

